Mar. 25th, 2003

sincere: DGM: Lenalee's back to the viewer (Default)
Okay. It's been a while since I wrote in here. It's totally not my fault. Blame it on ZERO Mark 1, who hated me and had to be sent away, and then the fact that I was without reliable Internet for a while, and then the fact that when I got back ZERO Mark 2, who seems reasonably fond of me, I was consumed by Planet Ladder and Get Backers and disenchantment with Scryed.

The fifth volume of Planet Ladder came out recently, and I keep turning pages and going, "I knew it. SO COOL." Because even though I knew certain things right away, like Kaguya and Kagami being siblings (you hear me, budding fandom?! she's his KID SISTER! I KNEW she was! you can't make them date each other, okay?!), it was all still handled in ways that made me squeal over the shininess. I mean, yes, Bambi's kind of EVIL now, but she's still flamingly lesbian and in love with Kaguya and has a really twisted Bambi-logic about it. And Laguna and Kura are TOTALLY wanna-be lovers, but Laguna had this whole tragic thing going on, and even though he walked willingly to his death, he kept a sense of humor about it. He was SO SWEET.
Kura: They'll kill you if you go back.
Laguna: I know.
Kura: *startled* You're a fool!
Laguna: *smiling* You did not realize this from the beginning?

I want him to live happily ever after with Kura. *sob* But nooooo, he goes home and gets killed by the people he loves so much. I'm frigging PROUD of Kura for wiping them out now.

Kura proceeds to go home to Geo, marries a princess who they tell you looks different from other girls from Geo and who actually looks a suspicious amount like Laguna, and genuinely mourns when she dies. I liked her. She never got a name. ~_~ And, and, and then things start BLOWING UP.

Oh, and Kagami seems kinda... evil to me now. But no less amazingly, amazingly cool.

As for Scryed... Well, I've got the manga now. I was reading through it, and it just seems... icky. Like, there's all sorts of massive boobtacular women, especially Sherrice, who also gets all manner of panty shot and tentacle scenes et al. And by the way, Eternal Devote requires Sherrice to take all her clothes off, straddle a half-naked Ryuhou's hips, their crotches to glow, and both of them to cry out in... joy, one supposes. That hurts me deeply. I'm sorry, guys, that's just not what I'm reading for. Asuka's girlfriend doesn't come back (if she ever existed at all!) but on the other hand, Cougar stays dead. This is a brutal disappointment, especially since he doesn't seem to have even gotten his cool stuff going. Then I'm all like, "I can't even FIND Mujou Kyouji in this mess." And there's this random new character who really, really wishes he were a girl, and in the end decides to become a transvestite and marry this other guy who looks like he is ten feet of solid muscle. Or maybe those are muscle-shaped bricks.

Sherrice gets Ryuhou in the end. Mimori and Ryuhou stand there and stare at each other for like, ten minutes, leaving Sherrice feeling a little out of place. And then both of them think, "I really loved you." Mimori gives the pendant to Sherrice and wishes her the best, and then just walks away. Ryuhou puts his arm around Sherrice's waist and they leave. I'm like, whatthefuck?

Everything I liked about Scryed is kinda... trivialized and/or jilted in the manga, as far as I can tell. I'm very disappointed. The art isn't even good -- I don't like the style at all. I think I'll stick to the anime if I plan on being interested in it.

But you know what? I'm not. Because now I have Get Backers. ^_^ Cut for massive dorkiness. )

Oh, and: "You figure out what Sakura feels about MAKUBEX and I'll figure out what kind of present he gets on his eighteenth birthday, desshou ne? ^^ "

I love Neesama.

Profile

sincere: DGM: Lenalee's back to the viewer (Default)
Kay

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit