Apr. 8th, 2003

sincere: DGM: Lenalee's back to the viewer (Default)
I've finished two of them now, both inordinately serious, although Li-san assures me that the Sakura-fic is fluffy and cute. Well, as much so as MAKUBEX gets during his arc, anyway, what with the looming shadow of nuclear bomb and blowing up everybody and all. It left Li-san FEELING fluffy and cute, which is probably the important part. It's tentatively called "Illumination", and I rather like it.

On the other hand, I'm not sure if I like the Ginji-fic or not, because it's more like a Raitei-fic and that makes me nervous. Plus, I made up a scenario that, in retrospect, seems ridiculous to me... but we don't know how Ginji and Ban met anyway, so I'm all, eh. It's all literary and stuff. The pinheads in my Creative Writing class had absolutely nothing worthwhile to say about the disguised version of it (I KNEW they wouldn't) and a number of them didn't get it, which depressed me, because I was making the point unusually OBVIOUS, for one of my fics. I threw a point-labelled BRICK at their heads, but somehow I feel that this is a negative reflection of my work and not their IQ. It doesn't help that the one comment that was praise got immediately shot down by an amused, "I feel the OPPOSITE" from the professor. Then everybody was really, really quiet while the professor, the Supreme Pinhead, and Finch (who is a jackass -- TRUST me on this one, you haven't read what he dares to call "poetry") said a bunch of comments which amounted to "We don't understand your style, your point, or anything about this story."

Makes me all insecure, yaknow?

Remaining is the Ban/Clayman fic (which I like more and more the more I think about it, and I rather liked it to begin with) and a Shido/Madoka piece or two that I haven't started yet, plus another two fics with MAKUBEX and Sakura. I've got a Trio fic just started that I rather like the concept for, and another one that Li-san helped me with waiting for the right moment -- damnit, I still don't feel that comfortable with my perception of Toshiki -- and a fic that amuses me and which is basically Jubei's first, and last, girlfriend. There might be one or two others that I've forgotten.

I change spelling of Kazuki's name randomly! Today I really like Kadsuki, which is the official spelling anyway... Damn romanization.

I'm debating what to do with the finished fics while I do my Japanese homework and endeavor to not fail anything. Besides being uneasy about the Ginji piece to begin with, Tami-san has posted no fewer than three fics in 48 hours on the Get Backers community which are all really cute and sweet and fluffy, and now I am even less willing to go and post this stuff. I don't know. It just seems so ass-backward to go about posting things like this after things like that. Maybe in a few days. *really annoyed at herself*

Back to Japanese homework. Then a half-hour break. Then more homework... then a half-hour break.

Grr, argh.

Apr. 8th, 2003 03:22 pm
sincere: DGM: Lenalee's back to the viewer (Default)
Today we're coming back from one of my classes and we're going to campus center to eat the way we usually do, but there's a mob in front of the fountain there. We were immediately assaulted by a handful of really DISTRESSED-looking people handing out flyers protesting a protest.

I completely sympathize with them, and still have all their flyers. Here's one.

Exploiting the Holocaust and racism is no way to win hearts or minds. Prepare to be horrified -- please read this before you proceed [onto the podium]. The display now in front of the Campus Center uses huge billboards filled with pictures of enlarged fetuses and fetal parts, photos of black men hanging and holocaust victims, and many other deeply upsetting images to force upon all passers-by an emotional reaction intended to turn people against abortion.

Concerned students at the University at Albany, together with concerned members of the community, want to express our outrage and anger at the viscious emotional manipulation and exploitation represented by the Genocide Awareness Project's billboard campaign. GAP exploits the victims of genocide for political purposes. This is not a social justice movement as they claim -- it's the worst kind of political sensationalism and opportunism. GAP offers no answers, no direction, no approach to reducing the need for abortion.

Giant pictures that focus on the fetus are intended to take our attention away from the woman, her reality, her value in the world, and her value to herself. In the real world, unintended pregnancy occurs within the complicated context of real people's lives. GAP ignores women -- apparently, women are merely the insignificant carriers of "unborn children".


Also: The Genocide Awareness Project believes it can exploit whatever human horror or stuggle it chooses and manipulate people's emotions in order to get their point across. Their goal is to stir up confrontation and anger.

All I have to say is: They've succeeded. Fuck YOU, Genocide Awareness Project. I shouldn't have to see that shit every time I go to the campus center. I almost wish I hated myself enough to run out and get pregnant right now so that I could have an abortion. However, my being female is currently putting me through enough pain without any help from men, so I'll settle for avoiding the displays of brutal executions and regimes of terror being compared to a woman's right to choose what to do with her body.

On a somewhat lighter note, Alicia's response to the displays after the initial anger (I'm the most angry out of all of us) was "Mmm, babies."

I said, "Yeah, them baby parts look damn tasty. They shouldn't have those pictures out there if they don't have any actual babies for us to eat now that we're hungry. It's CRUEL."

Profile

sincere: DGM: Lenalee's back to the viewer (Default)
Kay

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit