sincere: DGM: Lenalee's back to the viewer (a man's best friend ;;)
Scanslators have finally gone too far in their quest to lazily clean up manga! They have turned Yoruichi plaid.



Maybe they're not bothering to try because they know that by this point I am the only person still reading Bleach. So yeah, still liveblogging. And iconning again, because why not.

Might have good news to report soon but I refuse to jinx it by putting it out there on the internets too early. Instead, I will report the weird news: I'm going to try out this religion thing. You will find me tomorrow attending a potluck Shabbat service at a synagogue. What does one wear to a Shabbat service? I'm always seeing Jews in the Main Line district dressed all nice on Saturdays as they go to temple, so maybe I have an excuse to get dressed up for once!

Has everyone watched Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt on Netflix? If you liked 30 Rock, watch it immediately. Mainline it directly into your eyeballs. You will regret nothing. If you don't like 30 Rock, I will pray for you tomorrow.
sincere: DGM: Lenalee's back to the viewer (fashion central ;;)
Everything is beautiful and everything is horrible, at the same time. It's complicated. The World Ends With You has become my spirit animal once again. It is so beautiful it singlehandedly saved me from misery, and gave me inspiration.

The important thing is I have actual mojo for an original story idea and I'm going to attempt to write it.

But you can expect a Tales of Xillia liveblog from me tonight.
sincere: TOV: Yuri reclines with a smile, natural (he's got it all ;;)
Actually doing all right now. I managed to make myself get moving and I wrote up a modpost for [community profile] randomizing for the upcoming setting; we can do some ATP tomorrow for wanted characters, and I did some Bruce tags! It's been two weeks and it feels good.

But if Blizzard offered me another 14-day trial, or if I could get a Scroll of Resurrection, it is hilarious how fast I would be playing World of Warcraft again.

But in the meantime I am playing Fire Emblem: Awakening (I love strategy games...) and I am briefly distracted by dragons! If anyone reading this is on Flight Rising who hasn't already friended me, then let me know and I will add you. I also have two guys who just hatched under the cut: Read more... )
sincere: DGM: Lenalee's back to the viewer (srs bizns ;;)
Caught up on all my taaaags oh yeah. Gonna do some writiiing. Planning to app Nekuuuuu. I even did my kids' CR charts: Allen, Flynn, and Roxas! ETA: Whoops, I have to add in Lavi and probably Lenalee on Allen's. I forgot about them cuz they're new. brb.

First, some writing. Then, Sentience tags.

We're going somewhere to dinner tomorrow night. Benihana, maybe? We'll see if the show will silence [personal profile] rainfall's bickering family for ninety minutes. I'm looking forward to going (obviously, because I keep finding reasons for her to go there, like that the show might silence her bickering family for ninety minutes).

For her actual birthday next week we're getting cupcakes. Have you ever seen such ridiculous things?! I'm so excited I can't wait to eat them. XDDD Three sweet creams and three cake batters. Mmm.
sincere: DGM: Lenalee's back to the viewer (holidays ;;)
April is going to be so busy ack ack. Tonight starts my planning for the move regimen, which starts with "take excess clothes to be donated" and "NAIL SALON, GIRLFRIEND", because my priorities are totally straight. This will be crowned with sushi and tiny celebration of [personal profile] rainfall's job.

Lifestyle
Wrap up work in triumph
Pack all the things
Move all the things
Find a place to live
Not kill my mother until then

Personal
Play Kingdom Hearts Re: Coded
Play Tales of the Abyss 3DS
Stare at [community profile] kinkfest prompts
Accept praise for birthday gifts for [personal profile] rainfall ohohoho

Marina
Do not fail out of Marina with any of my boys
Figure out what to do about Orihime
Figure out about apping Neku vs Peony vs both
sincere: TOV: Estelle doesn't know how to high-five (let there be dork ;;)
This weekend has been awesome, even if it was spent with my family. Now we are heading to Philadelphia with the security of knowing that a ridiculously good job is awaiting at least one of us! It's seriously, stupidly good.

Immediately after the job offer, instead of being happy for [personal profile] rainfall, my mother said to me, "Now you just need to get an offer that's just as good."

Recently this is what she's taken to doing. "I know you're impressed with your friend's job, but there are tons of people out there that would give you $60k full-time jobs with your level of experience and education!" I don't think she understands how insulting this is. I've tried to explain how wrong she is. How I spent four years unemployed, desperately looking not for a $60k full-time job in my field, but for any job in my field; part-time, substituting, minimum wage, I didn't care. Any foot in the door was better. I couldn't even get callbacks on those jobs. I eventually settled for anyone who would hire me, even though it wasn't really in my field, and involved being a temp for ten months.

But I guess if I'd been better at job searching, I would have found one of the many people who were begging for candidates with a Masters in Library Science but zero library experience. And I guess getting a job isn't satisfactory, I have to get one that makes web developer money in my notoriously-strapped-for-cash field.

Anyway, the long and the short of it is that I'm going to get a job at the circulation desk, or at a Trader Joe's or something I don't even care, and I'm going to tell my mom they hired me to be the King of Libraries. :D

YEAH

Mar. 21st, 2012 11:19 am
sincere: DGM: Lenalee's back to the viewer (oh! perfect! ;;)
Posting on [personal profile] rainfall's behalf.

Ahhhhh the company she's been waiting for weeks to call her back is super excited to hear she's still available and they've set up an interview date they want her to fly in and they pretty much said they're going to hire her ahhhhhh

[personal profile] rainfall: I'M SO EXCITED
[personal profile] rainfall: EXCITE EXCITE EXCITE
[personal profile] rainfall: Best place to live. Nicest people, best FEELING, most stable job situation + second highest salary.
[personal profile] rainfall: Oh yes.
[personal profile] rainfall: Oh yes.
sincere: DGM: Lenalee's back to the viewer (oh! perfect! ;;)
So here are the things the last 36 hours have wrought:

I want to move across the country.
I want to get a new job.
I want to buy a house.

Yeah. And the worst part is that all of that is within my grasp if I really want it. Our lease is up at the end of March and Colorado has not been good to me, jobwise. I've missed the east coast and I have my dad's money to finance a house with if I want. A house would actually be a cheaper monthly payment than renting. And then how grown-up would I be?! A homeowner! A regular big kid.

My mom mostly talked me out of trying to buy a home from halfway across the country in a place I've never lived in and don't know if I'm going to like, but I'm still secretly browsing houses squeeing at them. I don't even know.

And I'm finding jobs and applying to them, and so has [personal profile] rainfall, and she's already gotten a request for an interview. So. Freaking out right now.

I want to move. I want to get a job. I want a house!!

Right now the options are looking like Baltimore, Maryland area, or Philadelphia, Pennsylvania area.

I literally can't think about anything else at the moment. I've been ignoring my tags and Plurk for days. Someone help me. Or maybe I should just give in and take a short hiatus.
sincere: DGM: Lenalee hugs Komui happily (no boundaries ;;)
It's the first day of a new year, and I have decided that it will be an good one.



We have over 30 apps this round at [insanejournal.com profile] marinasylum, including two challenge apps, which will probably consume half of my day. But at the end of it I will almost certainly have an Estelle and a Judith and a Raven and a Duke!! If Yuri and Flynn ask for an NPC Repede all I will need in my life will be a Karol and an Alexei~!

No new apps for my DGM or KH kids. The Bleach reserve hasn't apped, at least not yet, which is a shame, because Tatsukiiii. But Orihime always soldiers on, and I'm looking forward to her upcoming canon update~

It's a real shame that ATP didn't vote to start last night; we won't be able to offer an ATP extension this month because of their timing. But we'll advertise when it goes up anyway, and hopefully get some new people around for the Jan/Feb app period~!

Because it's going to be awesome. It's 2012! I've decided things will go right. For everyone. I'm thinking it for all of you, too. ♥