Tidbits

Apr. 6th, 2015 07:12 pm
sincere: Bleach: "I still don't want your number, Ishida." (social fail ;;)
I've decided that the title of my autobiography shall be "Crying At My Desk".

[community profile] three_weeks_for_dw is coming up again, so I wanted to make sure everyone was aware of it! I'm going to try to participate this year, and relatedly, I'm going to try following this formula for community building. It's a little complicated by the fact that I'm computerless at work (still) and just want to zonk out when I get home and don't have access to stuff to casually internet browse during the day, but I'll try it anyway! Build a little community, people. Remember how fun communities could be? Plurk and Tumblr are echo chambers / voids of nothingness. Get back to your roots.

If you enjoyed Marvel's Agent Carter, or if you like awesome depictions of powerful ladies, you should go to the Save Our Shows poll and tell ABC to keep it on the air, since they're apparently debating it.

Last week I wrote two Bleach fics for [community profile] fic_promptly: Back Against The Wall, a Soifon piece about Urahara and his shadiness, and Future Perfect, a pre-canon Renji/Rukia pining piece.
sincere: DGM: Lenalee's back to the viewer (valentine's spirit ;;)
I am vibrating with the need to play Story of Seasons. As the release date draws closer I've been filled with the need to play Harvest Moon and I keep checking Amazon to see if it's shipped yet because it said it would ship today but it also said I wouldn't get it until Thursday but it comes out tomorrow how can I wait until Thursday I will gnaw my arm off

Even though I have a midterm on Wednesday but w/e I can raise angora rabbits and camels on my farm wtf I just need this

Still having a Bleach moment, currently juggling Child of Light on Steam and Harvest Moon: A Tale of Two Towns. It's hard to get into my new job because I won't have a computer for... weeks, probably, so people just hand me huge stacks of paper to proof/label/read, so most of my work time is spent reading monotonous procedures about how procedures are decided upon until I faceplant and then stealthily reading library books on my iPhone or writing fanfic.

...Do you ever have one of those pairings that you ship so much that you can't imagine writing or roleplaying it or whatever because it's so perfect already that there's nowhere left to go, that you can't add anything to it? I think that is Renji and Rukia for me. I can't write anything except pre-canon angst for them. Once they're bffs again nothing I write feels like it could come close to expressing their perfection.
sincere: DGM: Lenalee's back to the viewer (a man's best friend ;;)
Scanslators have finally gone too far in their quest to lazily clean up manga! They have turned Yoruichi plaid.



Maybe they're not bothering to try because they know that by this point I am the only person still reading Bleach. So yeah, still liveblogging. And iconning again, because why not.

Might have good news to report soon but I refuse to jinx it by putting it out there on the internets too early. Instead, I will report the weird news: I'm going to try out this religion thing. You will find me tomorrow attending a potluck Shabbat service at a synagogue. What does one wear to a Shabbat service? I'm always seeing Jews in the Main Line district dressed all nice on Saturdays as they go to temple, so maybe I have an excuse to get dressed up for once!

Has everyone watched Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt on Netflix? If you liked 30 Rock, watch it immediately. Mainline it directly into your eyeballs. You will regret nothing. If you don't like 30 Rock, I will pray for you tomorrow.
sincere: DGM: Lenalee's back to the viewer (don't turn around ;;)
Autoplay videos and videos that take you through a playlist even though you only clicked on one video are a scourge upon our Internet.

I know that I've already recently complained about watching TV shows online, but I'm going to complain about it again. I was trying to watch The Daily Show and The Nightly Show on Comedy Central's website, but the videos kept hanging on commercial breaks and never loading. So I thought, I'll watch them on Hulu, until I remembered that Hulu is a pain in the ass, also often hanging on commercial breaks while in addition mandating that I turn off my ad-blocker, forcing ads even on paid users, and playing commercials much louder than the actual show, a gross assault of capitalism which has literally been banned on actual TV.

So I thought, I'll watch it on Xfinity TV, and then I remembered that Comcast is a disgusting monster trying to ruin the Internet that refuses to play nice with any of my electronics and is planning to take over the damn world.



The last 24 hours has been awful and stressful, except that I sat down last night to peck at my final research paper (which I hadn't touched yet, due on Sunday) and wrote 85% of it in one fevered swoop that I didn't surface from until it was 11:30PM.
sincere: TOA: Peony is disappointed (oh wait ;;)
How am I supposed to live without Jon Stewart
sincere: DGM: Lenalee's back to the viewer (do not want ;;)
"It's not my responsibility to inject my child with chemicals in order for [a child like Maggie] to be supposedly healthy," he said. "As far as I'm concerned, it's very likely that her leukemia is from vaccinations in the first place." - a fucking lunatic

Her leukemia is from vaccinations

Her leukemia is from vaccinations

*SCREAMING FOREVER*

In the article he also said that how dare your dying child expect to have any form of life involving the outside of her bedroom, including interaction with her immediate family (her infant brother got the measles) and seeking healthcare (he got it while at a clinic)? It's unfortunate but she deserves to die if she goes anywhere where a person with an easily preventable illness who may not have any symptoms has been within the past 2 hours, which is the duration of time measles can survive in the air. I need my child to remain "pure" and free of chemicals except all the chemicals in his food and his drinks and on his clothing and in his toothpaste and in his shampoo and sldkfjslkgj I can't

Her leukemia is from vaccinations

sincere: Bleach: Orihime flails energetically (energy surge ;;)
There is a zero percent chance that this liveplay will be half as entertaining as the immortal (and eternally unfinished) Rope of Robots, but at least it will keep me busy.

Let's play Xenogears yaaaaay it's time to kill God


Currently: Bledavik for a tournament
sincere: Bleach: "I still don't want your number, Ishida." (social fail ;;)
Network Executive: So how should we handle streaming content regarding our currently-airing shows?
Flunky: Why can't we just let them watch all the current episodes, sir?
Network Executive: What are you, crazy?! Then anyone would be able to watch our show, even if they hadn't been watching it for eight weeks already!
Flunky: But... isn't that what we...?
Go-Getter: Sir, how about if we allow anyone to watch the first three or so episodes... and then give them no way to watch the rest?
Network Executive: Genius!! That way the people who get interested in the show late will either be forced to resort to piracy or give up on our series for months, after which they'll have lost interest!!
Flunky: I don't understand how this is the outcome we want. Wouldn't we benefit more if our new shows were accessible to new viewers?
Network Executive: You're fired.


This skit is brought to you by the fact that I was able to watch episodes 1-4 of Jane the Virgin legally and then for some reason only episodes 8-9 were available, either via Xfinity Streaming or Hulu -- and on Hulu, bizarrely, episode 2 was for paying users only, the others were available for free. Wouldn't want it to be easy or anything!

I pirated 5-7 and then prepared to watch 8 legally... only to find that episode 10 aired last night, so of course episode 8 had been pulled from all legal sources. Of course, it's hardly just Jane the Virgin! Only the last 5 episodes of the current season of Elementary is available legally unless I pay CBS money for access to that and their other incredibly shitty programming, which is right after stab myself in the eye with a fork on my list of things to do. I was enjoying watching Forever a while back but the only episodes available legally are 4, 6-7, 12-13, which makes for a riveting evening of viewing I'm sure.

Why are you doing this. This is pointless and frustrating. As someone who has ignored all TV for the last few months -- hence why I'd like to catch up and start watching some new series -- it's making me so angry I want to go back to not watching TV. If that's your business model, consider it successful.
sincere: TOV: Yuri reclines with a smile, natural (he's got it all ;;)
+ Don't start playing Xenogears again for no reason
Don't start playing Xenogears again for no reason
Don't start playing Xenogears again for no reason
Finish a damn video game! and not Xenogears

+ Watched the first two episodes of Galavant. It's available online. Everyone who enjoys Robin Hood: Men In Tights, saucy musicals, and/or funny things should watch it immediately.

+ Started re-outlining The Last Dreamer for scripting. A friend and I have agreed to have writing meetups IRL in the hopes that it will get us writing more. I need to have something to share!

+ Spending all my evenings organizing my stuff and it feels good. Thank you, Pinterest!

+ Having second thoughts about apping at Cerealia, and after my horrible weekend I need to give my brain time to recover anyway. Starting next week my MBA class makes Wednesdays into horrible 16-hour day ordeals, so maybe it's not good timing anyway.
sincere: Dinosaur Comics: "I'm gonna stop talking now and re-evaluate some decisions okay?" (second thoughts ;;)
I was genuinely surprised when I went to go make this list to find that I'd written very little. I didn't bother to sort them by size, so they're collected by fandom:

List and meme under here. )
sincere: DGM: Lenalee's back to the viewer (a man's best friend ;;)
Merry Christmas, Happy Hannukah, Kickin' Kwanzaa, etc! As part of my family tradition, we went to see a movie for Christmas, and I don't care what anybody fucking says: the Hobbit was awesome. Battle of the Five Armies was everything I wanted.

...Basically what I wanted was just to see the rest of Thorin's story play out, so I wasn't really asking for much except that Jackson not fuck it up.

Thar be spoilers, just in case anyone hasn't read the book but wants to see the movies, I guess. )
sincere: DGM: Lenalee's back to the viewer (half-remembered beach ;;)
Stolen from Jes on Plurk, but Plurk is my nemesis, so: Give me two characters (from any fandom, or from RP), and I will answer these questions about them:

  1. who holds the umbrella when it rains

  2. who is the grumpiest in the morning

  3. who worries more when the other is sick/hurt

  4. who plays pranks on the other

  5. who is always the first to suggest cuddling on the sofa

  6. who insists on creating nicknames for the other

  7. who drools on the other when they’re asleep

  8. who says ‘I love you’ first


Also, I am actively contemplating somewhere to play Roxas again, but I can't find a game that catches my eye... Stupid Jodie and her stupid enabling and her stupid awesome Kairi.

Okay, now to go to bed so I can wake up well before the crack of dawn to drive to work early so that I can be forced to leave early and then sleep through the office party. But I'll be dreaming of watching the last Colbert Report... /weeps

Iconssss

Dec. 12th, 2014 09:06 am
sincere: Bleach: Orihime thinking hard (cunning face ;;)
I don't feel like writing, playing games, or even really roleplaying. What I feel like doing is making a thousand icons. I must have 5000 textures by now and I want to play with them. I've spent the last few nights making Garnet and Fran icons because why not.

I went around looking for icon challenges/prompts/claims communities that were active and I didn't see any on DW. I contemplated doing some general prompts or bingo cards that don't have a fic-only restriction, but I'm not sure I can visually express more complex prompts: something like "melancholy" is fine (per my [community profile] genprompt_bingo card) but something like "black is the new black" (per [community profile] dailyprompt) I have trouble imagining how to express.

A lot of people on my flist are icon-savvy so you might not need icon-making, but I'm still eager to try new things, and choosing which image to icon next is almost the hardest part. So I will make you an icon if you provide me with an image. It'll be a holiday gift to both of us!

  1. Up to 3 images to start with, and I will almost certainly provide you with several variations for any given image.

  2. Images can be anything, photos, fanart, screencaps, whatever. If it's from a fandom source I don't need to know the fandom, but please tell me what it is / who the character is for my reference!

  3. Since the point is playing around I don't need to know the requester either, so stalkers and friends of friends are fine.

  4. Images that require coloring (black and white, lineart, manga) are okay, but I don't guarantee awesome.

  5. Additional information about what you want from the icon is okay. Icons with text and animated icons I don't promise quality results for.

  6. Bonus points if one of your images is for a Tales of, Kingdom Hearts, or Code Geass character, since I want to try those in particular.

Here are some examples!

sincere: DGM: Lenalee's back to the viewer (jamming ;;)


Truly The World Ends With You is a game that speaks to my soul. Another Neku is actually me today. I am too emotionally drained to turn on Kingdom Hearts.

But I am having a lot of feelings about Zidane and Garnet! They are the best fucking Final Fantasy romance. (Fran and Balthier are already married so they're not a romance per se. Step off.) I don't think I'd have shipped it nearly so hard if the final scene of the game hadn't been so perfect and romantic and gah. Fucking Zidane. Why is he so awesome. Why is this a game that no one played or cares about.
sincere: DGM: Rhode stares in flat disbelief (just wow ;;)
I'm at the part of the game where I have to pick between mages or templars with zero middle ground, and so I want to vent some frustration with the infamous Dragon Age mage-templar conflict.

I'm mostly going to be talking about the previous two games and I'll avoid talking about the specifics of the IC situation so it's spoiler-free under here. (This is only, like, the third plot quest anyway, I'm still super early in the game.)

Ranting under here. )
sincere: TOA: Peony is disappointed (oh wait ;;)
I was 8 hours in and almost ready to consider leaving the Hinterlands when suddenly Varric goes "And Carver's doing great" and I'm like, "wtf, Carver is super, super dead." That's how I discovered that my Keep data had not exported and the data I "imported" when I started my game was generic. Why would they even let you "import" a default?

So, starting Dragon Age: Inquisition over...

I'm going with an elf, reluctantly, because the dwarf backstory sounded super cool and I love dwarves, and I'm interested in the qunari just because. (I would never voluntarily roll a human and I paid my dues with Hawke.) But I don't understand the qunari well enough and female dwarves have the option to have beards and I refuse.

Ta-da, that's all my DA:I words so far. I will play this probably for the next like four whole days before KH2.5 comes out and I play that instead.
sincere: DGM: Lenalee's back to the viewer (i am groot? ;;)
Oh god buying a car is the worst I have to ask people for monetary discounts and even though it's 100% expected and infamous for it I feel the walls closing in on me arghhh

In other news, Kingdom Hearts. Why isn't more Kingdom Hearts out yet? Someone should do something about that. There's still 9 whole days before this beautiful thing comes out and I drop everything in my life in order to re-experience six games I have already finished before. Shut up. I do what I want.

I redesigned my muselist, since everyone else was doing it. You should all admire it. Everyone should also admire the fact that because of it I made icons for Zero and Wrecka -- I actually ended up making three icons for Zero and I'm proud of them all. Oh, and why isn't more Megami Kouhosei out yet?

...And D. Gray-Man?

Basically, why isn't there more of the things I like and less car dealerships arghhhh
sincere: Bleach: Orihime flails energetically (energy surge ;;)
Me: Hello, I'm here because of my crippling shoulder pain.
Them: Okay. Do you want a flu shot while you're here?
Me: Yes please.
Them: This is going to feel like someone punched you in the arm.
Me: It already does.

And that's the story of how I spent like 90 minutes today driving one-handed! I also now have a bunch of steroids to take to hopefully cure myself of crippling shoulder pain.

I can't play video games with one T-rex arm. My life is hard.

I also can't really type, but I wanted to share.
sincere: DGM: Lenalee's back to the viewer (splish splash ;;)
Got up early so that I could vote on my way to work and now I'm a zombie. Democracy is so hard. Seriously though it took 10 minutes out of my day, do it.

Remember the good old days when I would do little drabbles for voters? That was cute. I'll do that again if anyone is interested for some reason! It's a midterm election so no one cares but just because no presidents are involved doesn't mean it's not important.

If you voted, you can comment with 3 pairings and I will write you a small shippy fic. Your pairings can be from the following fandoms:

Bleach, Code Geass, D. Gray-Man, Final Fantasy VI-VII-IX-X-XII, Fire Emblem: Awakening, Kingdom Hearts, Marvel Cinematic Universe (not up to date on Agents of SHIELD FYI), Mass Effect, Megami Kouhosei, Suikoden, Tales of the Abyss, Tales of Vesperia, The World Ends With You

And probably some more I've forgotten, so if you're curious about my fandoms, ask me. Happy voting!